Summer Reading Goals

I have a multitude of books to read over the summer, because I’ve been avoiding reading for the past three-ish years. I’d feel bad if I wasn’t reading something Literature related, so the last thing I read for fun was the Illiad. And that was at Christmas.

Currently, I’m reading Great Expectations, because I’ve never read a Dickens novel, and loved the BBC Dickensian series on over January and February, so decided to give it a whirl. Believe it or not, it’s not too hard going – I found The Picture of Dorian Gray more difficult to read, and that’s my favourite book of all time!
Having said that, I have had to renew it twice from the library because it’s still taking a while to get through it, but I’m hoping to finish it by Friday to take it back to the library on Saturday.

I bought David Copperfield to read afterwards, but I’m not sure if I’ll be reading that anytime soon – two Dickens’ books in succession may be the end of me.

Instead, I’m making a plan to read all of the books on my shelf that I’ve had for ages but haven’t had the chance to read yet – The Three Musketeers, Othello, The Lost Symbol, the second to last book of the Mortal Instruments series – just so I can clear them off before moving into Halls.

There’s at least 20 books on this list, and I’m going to need to keep the motivation I need to read them all, so after I finish one, I’m going to post it here with a rating, recommendation and brief overview of plot/what I thought. Hopefully, this means I’ll be both updating more, and posting more, so it’s a win/win for everyone! It does depend on how heavy my shifts at work get – I know they’re going to steadily increase my hours, so that might affect the time I have to read, but I’ll do my best anyway. This challenge will last from now until I start at university (19th September) so that’s just under 2 months to read at least 20 books. Wish me luck!!

 

One thought on “Summer Reading Goals

Leave a Reply

