Reading Update #3

I finished reading The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller about 10 minutes ago.

God damn, I forgot how much I loathed cliff hanger endings.

Lets start at the beginning – This book is about a young man (Asher) who is destined to save the world. Unfortunately, what he’s supposed to ve the world from, and how, isn’t exactly made clear throughout this book, so I can’t tell you that. The world is very intricate, with many sub-plots and add ons that I think will come back to haunt us.

In all honesty, this can sometimes feel overwhelming, like as a reader, you’re bogged down with too much information to process it properly, but Miller does it in a way that enriches the world and enables you to more fully empathise with the characters plights.

And oh what a series of plights they are. I won’t tell you about them, because that would be spoiling basically the entire novel, but I will say there are many difficulties ranging from mild annoyance at your favourite character being faced with this, to  heartbreak at how anybody could spend so long writing a character and setting them up for such a horrible situation.

Though I am prone to hyperbole, this is not an example of it.

Most of the characters are extremely likable (and if not, you can at least sympathise with their motives) and the plot, while it seems to spiral in all directions, seems to all link together just in time for the next book.

Which I currently don’t own and I am angrily scouring the shelves of Amazon for. Seriously, I hate cliffhangers.

Would I recommend this book? I’m not sure. I think it’s outstanding, one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read – and I breathed fantasy when I saw younger – but I feel it’s one of those cult books, destined to be passionately read by a group of dedicated followers. I hope I’m wrong, and this books comes into the mainstream, with merchandise and film contract, but it’s just a very odd story. So much rides on how much you like the characters; if you don’t like the main few, I doubt you’d finish the books. It just so happens that I fell in love with all of them, so it was an easy read.

Next up: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime

I know nothing about this books, but one of my close friends told me I’d love it, so here we go!

 

Leave a Reply

