So many books, so little shelf room…

I wanted to write something deep and meaningful about moving out of my childhood home in a week’s time to go to university, but I think I’m going to scare myself if I do. Instead, I’m going to give you a run down of the books I am taking to uni and why.

All of the online forums say that you don’t really get much storage space in Halls – where I’ll be living – so I don’t think I can bring them all. I want to bring them all.

  1. The Heroes of Olympus – Rick Riordan
    I love Rick Riordan’s writing style and especially his characters (that’s really where I fall in love with books) so I couldn’t not take something written by him. Percy Jackson might be the more classic choice, but I’ve read that series a lot, and this one I’ve only read fully once. I don’t care what my youngest brother says, re-reads are golden.
  2. Kingmaker: King breaker – Karen Miller
    Check out my last post for why I’m taking this series; I got the second in the series and am waiting till I get to my dorm to start it. I figured I’d need something quiet to do to fulfil my introverted need to recharge after parties and people time. When I get the third book (not for a while, judging on my weekly budget) it’ll join the others on my uni shelf.
  3. The Three Musketeers
    I’ve had this book on my shelf for over three years and it hasn’t been read yet. If I take it with me, I’m more likely to read it, right?
  4. The Song of Achilles – Madeline Miller
    This is a beautiful book that took Tumblr by storm about a year ago. I loved it, but have only read it once, so I want to give it another tearful read through.
  5. The Dresden Files – Jim Butcher
    Recommended by a favourite streamer of mine (Ryan Haywood of Achievement Hunter) I got the first two books in this TEN PART SERIES. Honestly, ten books! How will my student loan cope?! Regardless, I loved the first one and want to give this series another go, even if I’m ordering the others from the library.
  6. All of the gothic texts I studies at A Level
    I realise most people would never read their A Level texts again, but I really did enjoy reading them. They were The Bloody Chamber, Frankenstein and Doctor Faustus, and I’m hoping they’ll give me that little bit of extra motivation when I need it – I thought I’d do really badly in English but I ended up doing really well, it’ll remind me I can do things blah blah blah etc.

Andddd that’s it! I know that doesn’t seem like a lot, but I’m hoping there are 5 HoO books, 3 K:K books, 2 DF and 3 gothics, so it comes to around 13 books in total.
Then there’s the others in the incompleted series…

Basically, I want to have enough books so I don’t have to buy more (or collect more from home) but I also want to be able to read them all, so I can do a rotation at Christmas. That’s the dream. Of course, I’ll keep you guys updated as I read them: in all honesty, doing blog posts on what I’m reading makes me more motivated to read and finish more books! Maybe I should do that with school work too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

