Day 14: What I’ve Learned

Blah blah blah I know, I’m only 19 and don’t know squat.

Well, anonymous reader, it just so happens that I’ve know a great deal more than I did 19 years ago. Or 5 years ago. Or even 2 years ago.

It’s okay to like yourself

I spent like 16 years disliking myself because the opposite meant you were narcissistic and self-obsessed. It meant you weren’t modest and people didn’t like that.
That is 100% not true. Liking yourself means just that – you like the person you are, your beliefs and morals and looks and kind of nerdy obsessions. And that’s okay.

The age rating in Waterstones is just a suggestion

You can still by the new Rick Riordan book about Norse myths (it arrived today oh my god) even though it’s in the 9-12 fiction. Nobody’s going to come and ask you for ID – nobody cares!

Nobody cares

Literally. Nobody cares that your make up has smudged. Nobody cares that your hair is out of place, or your wearing odd socks, or you weren’t paying attention to where you were walking and accidentally walked into a lamp post.

Well, they care enough to laugh and make sure you’re okay. But it will not change their perception of you. They still love/hate you and that’s fine.

“If _____ told you to jump off a bridge, would you?”

No. No I wouldn’t.

This was something I learned the hard way, through a Sports Day I would really prefer to forget, but I’ve learned that, if I can’t justify or explain why I’m doing something, it probably isn’t worth doing.

You 100% cannot be good at something on the first go

There is no one in the world who is good at something on the first go, and people who say they were are insecure.

Remember how frustrating it was to learn bar chords for the first time? And then you eventually gave in and learned them because there was no way you were going to reach the other version of the F chord?

Practise is what makes people good at things. Practise beats passion every single time.

 

Leave a Reply

