Inspiration and Being Better

I’ve been in a bit of a writing slump recently. The last creative thing I did was… months ago, and I have barely done any blog posts this side of 2017.

I’d like there to be an actual reason for this – assignments, a social life, mental health, even.

In reality?

I’ve been lazy. I’ve been in a writing block and I haven’t made any effort to escape.

Until today, when I began editing the EPQ story I wrote last year. A whole year since I handed that bloody short(ish) story in which was probably the most significant piece of writing I’ve ever done, and cannot be bothered to edit properly.

So I began editing it… and hated everything. Like, hated. Like it was one of the worst things I’ve ever written.

But then I went back and looked at my old blog – iapologiseifyoureadthis.wordpress.com – and realised… It’s not so bad.

Everything on that blog is cringy and humiliating, but it’s who I was at that point in my life. And there is no comparison to where I am now with my writing, both fiction and non-fiction. I am so much better!

This is because I’ve practised. I have over 4 years writing experience now than I did when I started that old blog, and I like to think it shows.
It’s the same person, that much is obvious, but everything is juts… better.

This EPQ story is one year old. It’s going to feel crap because I’ve learned a lot since then, but we keep going. To improve, to grow, we have to keep making shit things, and I’m not going to let that stop me anymore.

I’m getting back into writing. It’s what I’m good at. It’s what I love doing. It’s what I’m going to do.

Leave a Reply

